Ungrateful Success

Why is it so hard to be grateful for what we have already? I asked myself that today as I was moping about, I just received really good news this week about getting the job I always wanted… Instead of celebrating, I was laying in bed feeling down asking myself ‘what’s next?’. As all the negativity started to fill my head I started focusing on what I don’t have, telling myself like ‘yea you’re so accomplished, yet your still suffering with acne, single, and broke.’ It got so bad I started crying, and that didn’t help anything it just intensified my self loathing.  I had to seriously take a moment to myself and ask why? Why does good news make me think badly of myself and what I’m lacking.

And I realized I’m human, most of us are conditioned to never being fully satisfied no matter how much or what we accomplish. ( I envy those who are completely content). We always want more, as for me I know I feel as if I have so much more to do before I can consider myself an acclaimed individual. Once I reach something I want, I check that off the list and start to stress about all the other things I need/want to experience. It’s not hard to point the finger at society and the media for making the majority of us feel as if we need more to be accepted.

Of course it’s  beautiful to want more and to work hard.But at what moment do we find our true peace?

Our wants are a selfish part of our mind, they never let us fully enjoy the goals that are already obtained, instead they are focused on doing the next thing bigger and better.

It feels so ugly but is that what makes humanity great? Is that what makes me continue to try to get rid of my acne, find love, and be successful?  Is that why people compete, and try new things? Think about why we put ourselves out in the open, vulnerable to the world. We need to be satisfied We’re never content, that’s why we keep going.

So is being ungrateful positive or negative ?

Can we say it possesses both sides of the spectrum?

Who knows how it works…However, I do believe if you can’t always be grateful at least be thankful for what you have. ❤️

img_2522

8 thoughts on “Ungrateful Success”

      1. Hey how’re you girl? And you don’t need to say sorry come on!!!! 🙂 Glad to see you back!!!! But please don’t thank me for anything… I don’t like it when anyone thank me for anything these days… don’t know why…

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I am fantastic!!! Hahaha.. I did at the end, maybe you’ve forgot.. 😄😝
        Awe.. I’m happy to see you too sweetheart!!! And people like you with a golden heart inspire me too!!!!❤❤❤

        Like

  1. Excellent words! I completely understand how you feel. I do have to remind myself to be grateful for what I have. I am always striving to accomplish more. This isn’t bad of course, but then, it could lead to a constant state of misery because you never reached “enough.” Instead, I think we should relish in our little daily successes. We are human, and we are all trying to find some homeostasis in this world 🙂​. Thank you for sharing. I’m grateful today that I stopped by you blog to visit. ❤️​

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re so right, sometimes you have to really tell yourself that you are doing great things. Its like we forget to admire ourselves. Thank you for your comment Im glad that you understand!♥ Thank you for visiting!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

